1St Youth Parliament in Pune!

Indira College of Commerce and Science (ICCS), Tathawade, had organized first-ever                     ‘Youth Parliament’ in Pune region, on 8th August’2018 in association with Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan (NYKS), Ministry of Youth affairs and sports, Pune. The Chief Guest for the event was Miss Monika Singh, the Deputy Collector & Deputy Election Officer-State Government of Maharashtra and the guest of honour was Mr. Yashwant Mankhedkar, Chief Co-ordinator of NYKS. The innovative event which happened for the first time in the history of college started with the arrival of Chief Guest. Later on, Dr. Janardhan Pawar,              Principal Incharge of ICCS, Dr. Sonali Shrotri, HOD-BBA & BBA(IB) Department, and Prof. Shivendu Bhushan, HOD-BCA felicitated the Chief guest and guest of honour with saplings. Guests were very warmly welcomed by the college staff and students.

The event started with a welcome speech of Dr. Janardhan Pawar. On the occasion of ‘Youth Parliament’ the Chief Guest inaugurated “ELECTORAL LITERACY YOUTH CLUB”. She expressed her thoughts and views about ‘Youth Parliament’ and also threw a light on the purpose of the “ELECTORAL LITERACY YOUTH CLUB”. In continuation, Mr. Yashwant Mankhedkar (Guest of honour) addressed the students and he told the young members of parliament about rules and regulations of parliamentary sessions. He also said that Indira College of Commerce and Science is the first College who has conducted such innovative events for their college students.

The parliament ministries were assigned to students who played role of ministers and one of the student was given speaker’s post to conduct the parliament. Dr. Nalanda Wani and Prof. Abhijeet Chavan were the judges of this Youth Parliament session.

Honorable Speaker of Youth Parliament, started the session by taking oath and then the Youth Parliament was kept open for all. The first topic of discussion was employment generatiion which was debated and appropriate solutions for it were suggested. The next topic of discussion was Urban & Rural areas and their problems, how the problems of these areas can be solved; later on opposition leaders targeted Ministry of Tribal Affairs to address to the problems of tribal people and how those tribal people can get connected with the mainstream and how they can be helped etc. Subsequent topics for discussion on how the education provided in government schools is different from that of private schools were asked from Ministry of HRD. Further topics of discussion were Women Safety, Prices of Petroleum products, Finance, Defence, Small & Medium scale Industries, Sources of Power & renewable resources, Textile Industries, Infrastructure etc. The Young Opposition leaders were raising various issues to respective ministers and also demanding appropriate solutions and gave suggestions on the same.

The session was concluded by the Honorable Prime Minister and the Honorable speaker respectively. All the students who participated were awarded with a ‘Certificate of Participation’ by the guests. And also there were three students who were declared as the best speakers of Youth Parliament session and they were Ritik taunk (acted as honorable speaker), Laksh Dujari (acted as Minister) and Akash Gaikwad (acted as opposition leader).

The event was very well executed under the supervision of Professor Dr. Deepa Jamnik and Professor Vijay More. This event of Youth Parliament proved to be a memorable event from which the college students have learnt so many things and they were given a platform to express their viewpoints.